Logano Tops Newman To Capture STP 500 Pole


Joey Logano will be up front for the start of Sunday's STP 500.


Joey Logano turned in the fastest lap of the day Friday to win the Virginia Lottery Pole Day pole and claim the top starting spot for the STP 500 Sunday at Martinsville Speedway.

Logano had a lap of 19.232 seconds (98.461 mph) around the .526-mile oval to claim his second pole of the year and the 10th pole victory of his career.

“It feels great to finally get the pole here,” Logano said after winning his first Martinsville pole in 16 attempts. “We’ve been so close so many times and throughout my career I feel like we’ve always qualified well here, but was never able to get the pole.

“You win anything at Martinsville, it’s a big deal. This is such a tough race track and it means a lot to say you’ve won something here even if it’s a pole.”

Ryan Newman captured the second starting spot for the STP 500 with a time of 19.258 seconds (98.328 mph) followed by Martin Truex Jr., Jeff Gordon and Jimmie Johnson.

There is a full day of action at Martinsville Speedway on Saturday with NASCAR Sprint Cup practice at 10 a.m., qualifying for the Kroger 250 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race at 11:15 a.m. and the final Sprint Cup practice at 1 p.m.

The Kroger 250 will begin at 2 p.m. Tickets are $35 for adults and $5 for children 12-and-under. Ticket may be purchase online at www.martinsvillespeedway.com or at the Martinsville Speedway ticket office Saturday.

Great tickets are available for Sunday’s STP 500. Ticket prices start at $50 and can be purchased by calling 877.RACE.TIX, online at www.martinsvillespeedway.com or at the Martinsville Speedway ticket office.

 Fan gates open at 9 a.m. both Saturday and Sunday.

You may unsubscribe at any time.
Martinsville Speedway
PO Box 3311
Martinsville, VA 24115
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use . OK

© 2020 Martinsville Speedway


ISC Track Sites